Goal-Directed Design (Cooper)

May 21, 2008
    Goal-Directed Design is a powerful tool for answering the most important questions that crop up during the definition and design of a digital product:

  • Who are my users?
  • What are my users trying to accomplish?
  • How do my users think about what they’re trying to accomplish?
  • How should my product behave?
  • What form should my product take?
  • How will users interact with my product?
  • How can my product’s functions be most efficiently organized?
  • How will my product introduce itself to first-time users?
  • How can my product put an understandable, appealing, and controllable face on technology?
  • How can my product deal with problems that users encounter?
  • How will my product help infrequent and inexperienced users understand how to accomplish their goals?
  • How can my product provide sufficient depth and power for expert users?

From Alan Cooper’s (et.al.) book About Face 3 – The Essentials of Interaction Design

Leave a Reply

