BBC news redesign – the verdict

August 2, 2010

Ok, I’ve used the site for a couple of weeks now. Here’s my verdict:

  • It works. But I cannot say it works better than the previous design.
  • Where is the style sheet? The site needs skinning. Looks like high def wireframes went online. White space is useful if employed in a controlled manner.
  • Definitely have a problem with top navigation. Why having UK and England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales as top labels?? (Ok, I know why, but I don’t agree.) Also: if I’d come up with the labels ‘Sci/Environment’ and ‘Entertainment & Arts’ I’d most probably got sent back to my desk.

I still find it kind of embarassing to see BBC news with an inconsistent global BBC banner.

Leave a Reply

